Cadet of the Year 2020

On Saturday 1 February, candidates for the Australian Air League Cadet of the Year flew in from around Australia for the selection of this prestigious award.

This year the selection process was the same as for 2019. Candidates met with Federal Staff in Sydney where they went through a rigorous process that led to the final selection.

The female candidate for this year’s consideration was:

Sgt Preethika GanigerPort AdelaideSouth Australia

The male candidates for this year’s consideration were:

Cpl Adam GlowackiSutherland ShireNew South Wales
Cpl Callum LangilleHervey BayQueensland
Sgt Hayden BorchardGawler AirfieldSouth Australia
Sgt Chithi GunatilakeWaverleyVictoria

Candidate met with the Chief Commissioner at Sydney Airport, where they were then transported to the NSW Group Headquarters where the selection process took place.

The selection process included the following contributing components and were weighted to produce a final result:

  • Attitude; Behaviour 10%
  • Knowledge Test 15%
  • Inspection 10%
  • Presentation 30%
  • Interview 35%

For the presentation, the candidates each pre-prepared an audio visual presentation on the topic, “Going forward – Growing the Australian Air League in the 2020s”.  There were some very well laid put presentations, and the candidates are congratulated on the effort put in to produce these.

As usual, it was a tough decision for the selection panel, with all of the candidates impressing in one way or the other.  They represented their squadrons and groups well, and their families in particular should be very proud of their efforts.

In the afternoon the results were announced.

  • Female:    Sgt Preethika Ganiger, Port Adelaide (South Australia Group)
  • Male:         Cpl Adam Glowacki, Sutherland Shire (NSW Group)

Although she was the only female candidate able to attend on the day, Sgt Ganiger was still expected to meet a high standard to be named Female Cadet of the Year, a standard which she met comfortably. Cpl Glowacki saw out a close competition to become the Male Cadet of Year.

The Chief Commissioner, James Dixon MSA in presenting the awards said:

“On behalf of the Australian Air League, I congratulate Sgt Preethika Ganiger of Port Adelaide Squadron and Adam Glowacki of Sutherland Shire Squadron on their achievement of being named the Australian Air League Cadets of the Year.

“The standard this year was very high, and all nominees were impressive.  My commiserations to the other nominees – the Federal team recognises your achievements and you should be proud of your efforts.  You are a credit not only to your squadrons and groups, but also to your families.

I would like to thank NSW Group for hosting the event.  I would also like to thank Lt Comr. Remington, DSA., MSA for his assistance, particularly in organising the catering for the day.”

News Archive

Subscribe to eNews


Contact Us

Call Us
1 800 502 175