80th Anniversary of Kyeema Crash

On the 25th October 1938 an Australian National Airways Douglas DC-2, the “KYEEMA” commenced its approach to Essendon Airport through heavy fog, having flown from Adelaide. It is believed the crew miscalculated their location and crashed in to the western slopes of Mount Dandenong, killing the crew of 4 and 14 passengers.

Following this tragedy, a Royal Commission saw the creation of the new Department of Civil Aviation and Australia’s system of air traffic control.

Each year members of the Victoria Group of the Australian Air League take part in a ceremony at the crash site to remember those who lose their lives.

Victoria Group Experience Camp 2019

The Australian Air League Victoria Group offers all officers and cadets an opportunity to attend the Experience Camp. The Experience Camp has been designed to incorporate three fundamental aspects of the League in one whole experience, these include;

NCO/Advanced NCO Preparation;

Offers the cadet numbers for prospective NCOs to train for their required aspects of future promotions, whilst building their leadership skills among a larger number of cadets.

Officer Conference;

Open forum interaction for younger developing officers, and various workshops for officers of all skill levels

Recreation Activities;

Fun for all members making new friends in a unique environment.
Example activities include: Beach time, High Ropes, Abseiling, and Giant swing etc.

Details can be found in Victoria Group Physical Activities Circular No. 5/18 available here.

NSWBG Athletics Carnival 2018

The annual athletics carnival is on again!! With all reviews for the year over, this is a great opportunity to attend the athletics carnival, without the pressure of having to prepare for other air league events.

If your squadron has not attended the athletics carnival in recent years, you are more than welcome to attend – we look forward to seeing you, your members and parents there!

This is a fun carnival – a great opportunity to have some fun and socialize with other members of the Group.

Details of the event can be found here.

Recent News

News Archive

Subscribe to eNews


Contact Us

PO Box 612, Balwyn North, VIC 3104
Call Us
1 800 502 175