Bundaberg Squadron Presentation 2018

1st December saw the Bundaberg Squadron hold its annual Award Presentation Day. The presentations were attended by a number of special guests;

  • Councillor Steve Cooper 
  • Mr. Ian Games
  • Mr. Michael Walker (RAAF Assoc)
  • Mt. Leigh Evans (Bundaberg Gliding Club)
  • Ms. Anne-Maree and Peter Marsh (Bundaberg Show Society)
  • Ms. Carolyn (President RFDS Auxilliary)
  • Lt.Comr. Todd Oakley Group Executive Commissioner 
  • 1st.Off. Michael Hansen OC Forest Lake Squadron 

During the proceedings Mr. Games spoke of the history of the Davin Plath – Squadron Excellence Award reminding us all of Davin Plaths’ passion for aviation.  The award was won by Cadets Rhys Sharp and Samantha Goodwin.

Through out the year all of the cadets worked hard and it was with pleasure that the following awards were presented.

  • Most Improved– Jacob Cowan
  • Model Building– Jessie Dawson 
  • Education – Ari Maatta 
  • Instructors– Samantha Goodwin 
  • Aircraft ID– Ari Maatta and Samantha Goodwin 
  • Community Awareness– Riley Kroning 
  • Dress & Bearing– Coen Adams-Williams and Samantha Goodwin 
  • Protocol & Discipline – Riley Kroning 
  • NASHO’S COTY – Rhys Sharp 
  • Davin Plath(Squadron Excellence) – Rhys Sharp and Samantha Goodwin

This day was also significant as it saw the official handover of the Squadron from Gp.Comr. Di Ballard to 1st.Off Annette Goodwin. Annette joined the Air League in 2014 and during this time has shown dedication to the squadron, we wish her every success in her new role as Squadron Officer Commanding.

Certificate of Currency 2019

The Australian Air League wishes to advises its volunteers that copies of the Certificates of Currency for the League’s Public Liability Insurance are now available for download on the online AAL Manual at the following location. Member may log in with their Member Ship number and password to access these files. Login instructions can also be found on the site.

AAL Review 2020

The 2020 Australian Air League Review is scheduled to be held  at the Sports Super Centre, Runaway Bay, Gold Coast, Queensland on 4 October 2020.

  • Diagrams will be No 10
  • Band and Solo Compulsory Tune is Tune No 20 – Maynard’s Fancy
  • Ball Games will be Games Nos 1, 4, 5

Further details will be provided during 2019.

NSW Boys Group Education Model Competition 2019

Details for the NSW Boys Group Education Model competition can be found in Education Circular No 5. available for download here.

The subject for the Group Model Build in 2019 is the 1/72nd scale BAE Hawk (any brand and variant). The build can be any brand and any mark, but OOB (Out Of Box) with no further modifications allowed, simply the best built and completed model will win. This also may suit squadron modelling programs as again the same model can be built and go to the plastic model points for Aircraft Modelling Class 4.

News Archive

Subscribe to eNews


Contact Us

PO Box 612, Balwyn North, VIC 3104
Call Us
1 800 502 175