NSW Group Ceremonial Parade 2023

On Sunday, 28th May, cadets and Officers of the NSW Group of the Australian Air League participated in the Group’s annual Ceremonial Parade, marching through the streets of Sydney from Martin Place to Metcalfe Park, Pyrmont. This year’s parade saw just over 300 members representing 18 Squadrons across NSW – the furthest travelled being the City of Canberra Squadron.

The first stop for the parade was the Cenotaph at Martin Place for placing a wreath by the NSW Group Cadets of the Year, Sqn. Sgt. Lara Wilbow from Doyalson Sqn. and Sgt. Jonathan Nolan of Marrickville Sqn. This was accompanied by the playing of the Last Post and Rouse.

At the completion of the Wreath Laying Service, the parade moved off to make its way from Martin Place through the streets of Sydney and Darling Harbour to Metcalfe Park, Pyrmont. We must thank the NSW Police Force for their assistance in making this parade possible. 

Upon arrival at Metcalfe Park, the parade was met by the Reviewing Officer, the Hon. Matt Kean MP, Member for Hornsby, and Shadow Minister for Health, along with other dignitaries and guests, including Ron Glew OAM, President of the Air Force Association NSW and Grace Walker – NSW State Chair of Women in Aviation Australian Chapter. 

Following his address, the parade saw the presentation of Awards and Trophies to members and Squadrons for competitions on the march and activities held throughout the year. 

The parade also saw several presentations to student pilots present at the parade; these included 13 Student Pilot Epaulettes to cadets who have completed 10 hours of flying training and four flying scholarships from the Canterbury RAAF Association and the NSW Group towards flying training at the Air League’s Air Activities Centre, Camden NSW. These were to:

  • Cadet Zach White – Moorebank
  • Leading Cadet Mahnoor Syed – Edmondson Park
  • Corporal Toby Ong – Canterbury Squadron
  • Leading Cadet Joel Blanning – Sutherland Shire

The 2023 Flying Encouragement Award was made to Senior Cadet Ben Hunt of Taree Squadron.

Other awards include;

  • Of the Year Awards:
    • Physical Activities – 1st Marrickville, 2nd Moorebank, 3rd Riverwood
    • Education Practical – 1st Doyalson, 2nd Marrickville, 3rd Southern Highlands
    • Education – 1st Southern Highlands, 2nd Maitland, 3rd Camden
    • Field – 1st Riverwood, 2nd – Moorebank, 3rd – Sutherland Shire
    • Outstanding Squadron – 1st – City of Canberra, 2nd – Moorebank, 3rd – Riverwood
  • On the March Competitions:
    • Best Wing – 1st Kingsford Smith, 2nd Robey, 3rd Keith Smith
    • Best Squadron – 1st Riverwood, 2nd Moorebank, 3rd Sutherland Shire
    • Best Flag Party – 1st Moorebank, 2nd Sutherland Shire, 3rd Edmondson Park
    • Best Small Squadron – 1st Richmond, 2nd Padstow, 3rd Doyalson
    • Best Flight – 1st Mount Pritchard, 2nd Edmondson Park, 3rd Riverwood
    • Best Drum Major – 1st Riverwood, 2nd Moorebank, 3rd Blacktown
    • Best Band – 1st Riverwood, 2nd Moorebank, 3rd Blacktown
    • Best Small Flag Party – 1st Padstow, 2nd Canterbury, 3rd Doyalson

Congratulations to all those who took part.

News Archive

Subscribe to eNews


Contact Us

Call Us
1 800 502 175